The annual Montana Tourism Awards recognize the outstanding accomplishments of the people, businesses, organizations and communities that strengthen Montana's tourism and recreation industries and thereby contribute to maximizing its economic impact for Montana residents.

Members of the public are invited to nominate deserving individuals and groups in five of the six award categories. The Film Friendly Community award finalists and winner are selected by the Montana Film Office. Nominations are closed.

Heritage and Cultural Tourism – 2020 Montana Tourism Awards

The Heritage and Cultural Tourism award recognizes an institution, individual or organization for contributions to the promotion and celebration of Montana’s authentic and unique culture or natural history as an important attraction for visitors and Montana residents alike. Eligible nominees may include specific attractions (museums, historical or cultural attractions, libraries, events), individuals or organizations for extraordinary accomplishment in promoting the state's heritage and cultural assets. Who among us tells the story in a meaningful and culturally appropriate way that ensures generations to come will be informed and delighted by Montana's rich culture and heritage?

2020 Recipient – Blue Heaven Ranch, Hays MT

Marketing Campaign of the Year – 2020 Montana Tourism Awards

The Marketing Campaign of the Year award recognizes an outstanding tourism-related marketing campaign (including any combination of paid, owned or earned media) executed within the past calendar year. For this award, the marketing campaign is defined as a series of planned marketing activities, channels and methods that produce measurable results related directly to the campaign.

2020 Recipient – Glacier Country Tourism & Yellowstone Country Montana "Glaciers to Geysers"

Outstanding Tourism Volunteer – 2020 Montana Tourism Awards

This award acknowledges and celebrates significant commitment demonstrated by an individual (or a group of individuals) who exemplifies the positive impact volunteers have on Montana's tourism and recreation industries and who goes above and beyond to ensure visitors' experiences are positive and worth repeating.

2020 Recipient – Todd Hunkler, Butte MT, volunteer for Montana Folk Festival

Public + Private Collaboration – 2020 Montana Tourism Awards

This award acknowledges the collaboration of private and public partners whose joint work enhances the Montana tourism industry by providing innovative and sustainable tourism products, solutions or strategies that have identifiable and measurable results.

A public sector partner is one that is owned and operated by a governmental entity (local, state, tribal, federal).

A private sector partner is one that is owned and operated by non-governmental entity (business, corporation, association, advocacy groups, non-profit trust, etc.).

2020 Recipients – Glacier National Park Conservancy & Glacier National Park

Tourism Ambassador of the Year – 2020 Montana Tourism Awards

This is the "lifetime achievement award" for a Montana tourism professional. It is to be awarded to an individual to recognize his/her history of dedication and significant positive contributions to tourism and recreation at the community, regional or statewide levels.

2020 Recipient – Diane Medler, Kalispell MT

In addition, although not part of the open nomination process as the Montana Film Office selects finalists and the winner.

Film Friendly Community of the Year – 2020 Montana Tourism Awards

Film is a powerful medium for attracting visitors to a destination, and in Montana, the landscape truly speaks for itself. But filmmaking is a lot of work, and it takes a village—or in this case, a community—to make it successful. From lodging to crew and even locally sourced equipment, Montana communities provide tremendous support for film productions, and in return, benefit from the significant economic impact. For the Film Friendly Community award, nominees and the winner are selected by the Montana Film Office based on their assistance and support of a specific project or projects filmed in their communities.

2020 Recipient – Livingston MT, "Robert the Bruce" feature film